Location

655 Fairview Avenue N., St. Paul (In the Living Word Church building 3 blocks north of the University/Fairview Ave. Greenline LRT station) Phone: 651-690-1588


Today’s dancer can do more than ever and choreographers are embracing the new fluid boundaries of ballet. Whatever 21st century ballet becomes you can be sure it will be deep and wide and rich as it always has been and St. Paul Ballet wants to be part of its evolution. As we extend our movement vocabulary we hope to stir our souls and articulate the resplendent as well as the relevant.

We are entering our fourth year of collaboration with Element Gym which has been the most enriching and rewarding relationship we could have hoped for. Our community extends beyond our studio doors to embrace what looks like the most unlikely partnership on the surface but is actually a shared vision for uniting community around movement, health, hopes and dreams. The things that make communities thrive and make us all stronger and more creative and vibrant.

We strive to create a nurturing environment in which the student’s individual development is supported. The pre-professional program provides students with exceptional clarity and strength while encouraging a life-long love of dance and healthy body image. Live accompaniment, enrichment in modern and character dance along with promotion of health and well-being complete the training.

Students enrolled in the pre-professional program build the foundation for college-level programs, conservatory or a professional career. Over 80 students each year are trained in the Vaganova-based progressive curriculum augmented by modern dance and other genres to create the well-rounded dancer. The training is divided into levels appropriate to the age, maturity and dance expertise of each student. Auditions are required for placement and progressive advancement is based on strength, physical development and mastery.

There is no substitute for actively participating in art. We have found that a welcoming, non judgmental atmosphere is the most critical factor in participation. St. Paul ballet celebrates inclusiveness and values all body types.

Other barriers to participation include location (transportation) and cost. At St. Paul Ballet we have the good fortune of residing just three blocks off the Greenline LRT in St. Paul. In 2018 we will give over $10,000 in scholarships and we always offer the first class free.

The recreational program at the School of SPB serves an additional 200 students from the youngest at 2-1/2 along with their parents to retirees trying dance for the first time. These classes are held in convenient multi-week sessions and on a drop-in basis with class cards at very affordable rates.

SPB also serves the broader population of St. Paul and Minneapolis through:
• Saint Paul Public Schools Community Education
• Free public performances at the Landmark Center monthly and at Toddler Tuesdays, Mall of America semi-annually
• Greatly reduced tickets to performances provided to school children and seniors at all of our theater performances.

Saint Paul Ballet is a 501(c)(3) organization.

Board of Directors
Sarah Leismer, Interim Chair, Medtronic  sleismer@spballet.org
Lillyan Hoyos, Secretary, Account Director at Altus Marketing & Business Development   lhoyos@spballet.org
Steven Pomeroy, Treasurer, Merkle, Associate Director of Analytics  spomeroy@spballet.org
Amber Genetsky, Chiropractor, and Diplomate of the American Chiropractic Neurology Board, SMSC Wellness Center  agenetsky@spballet.org
Timothy Knutsen, Human resources consultant tknutsen@spballet.org
Christina Onusko, Artistic Advisor: Director, Block and Grading Services, Alvanon   conusko@spballet.org

Dalton Outlaw, Owner, Element Boxing and Fitness doutlaw@spballet.org
Kelly Turpin, artistic administrator and consultant with Libby Larsen Chronofon Productions   kturpin@spballet.org

Executive Director
Lori Gleason  lgleason@spballet.org

School Director
Laura Greenwell   lgreenwell@spballet.org

Directors Emeritus
David Trayers

Marla Murphy-Guddal 

History
Saint Paul Ballet (SPB) was established in 2002 when the St. Anthony School of Dance merged with the St. Anthony Performing Arts Guild located in the historic Grand Avenue “studios above the hardware store” where ballet has been taught for over 60 years. In 2012, SPB was restructured and has grown exponentially.